skip mobile navigation
skip top site navigation

Habitat News

Family Biography | Jaffary’s Family

 

My name is Nahzatullah Jaffary. I am 27 years old. I was born and raised in a military family in Herat state, Afghanistan. I have one brother who just finished his high school and one sister who is currently studying laboratory science in Herat city. My mom left her government job a while ago after she received multiple threats from local insurgents for working in the government. She is currently a housewife.  Jaffary photo

I am happily married with Samira Ahmady. We have a two year old cute son (John Eman Jaffary) and a beautiful daughter (Angelina Doonya Jaffary).  I finished my grade school in Herat in 2010. Also, I studied 3 years of Law School in Herat city, but did not graduate due to my movement to America. Besides going to law school, I also taught English and Pashtu languages for Afghan high schoolers and university students.

My father is a colonel; he has been working in the Afghan military for almost 37 years. He encouraged me to serve my people and country as much as I could; therefore, I followed his way by joining the Afghan military in 2005 while still in grade school.

I finished my 3 years of service in the military in 2009, and received an honorable discharge certificate. Then, I joined the US combat forces in 2009 as an interpreter and cultural advisor to further assist the US government in bringing peace and tranquility to Afghanistan. I worked with different US combat forces in various states within the country of Afghanistan for almost 5 years.

I moved to USA in September of 2014 through Special Immigration Visa Program (for the Afghan interpreters).  I am currently residing in Appleton, Wisconsin with my family and I am working two jobs; at the Fox River Mall as a security professional and at Target as a cashier. In the meantime, I am studying Supply Chain Management program at Fox Valley Technical College.

Leave a Comment